REVIEW: The Radio Production Awards!


Radio 1’s Gemma Cairney hosted The Radio Production Awards at London’s The Hippodrome last night! Organised under the Radio Academy and Radio Independent’s Group, This beautifully intimate ceremony celebrated Radio stations, shows, and presenters from across the UK. 


Singer Nell Bryden opened the night with a very upbeat set of three songs, performing with a band, starting the night off in style! Comedian Jake Yapp also performed a set in the middle. 


This year’s Radio Production Awards brought in some new awards, including ‘Best Grassroots Production’ won by the amazing Roundhouse Radio! This award celebrates new talent rising in the radio industry, something which the Roundhouse Radio very obviously does! This award was preceded by a big plea to save the BBC, the importance of BBC Radio emphasised throughout the night. National Prison Radio was Highly Commended for best Grassroots Production too - a truly inspirational radio initiative working with prisons in the UK. Other first time awards included ‘Presenter Hero’, awarded to Richie Firth for the Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show on Absolute Radio.


Best Sound Designer went to Sparklab and Falling Tree’s freelancing Steve Urquhart. Biggest award of the night, to close the show with a whole bunch of confetti, was TBI, awarded with ‘Indie Of The Year,’ and Whistledown won three awards throughout the night. There were 18 awards in total awarded on the night. 


Sponsored by Audible, a long with many other companies who sponsored individual awards, the awards truly celebrated radio and audio across a wide range, bringing together podcasts, rising stations, independent stations, commercial radio, and the BBC, celebrating individual presenters and teams as a whole in UK radio! Woooooooo radio.